In this blog post, I will thoroughly explain the common concern of those who always ask, Are Swedish Fish Gluten Free? Be sure to read the entire article to find an exact answer, as well as explain what Gluten is, how it’s used, and its dangers.
Swedish Fish is a popular candy made by Mondelez International. They are small fish-shaped chewy candies made of different flavors and are available in numerous shapes. Whether a baby or an adult, you will enjoy eating these fat-free and Vegan candies whenever you travel, go to the cinema, or have a party elsewhere.
So Is Swedish Fish Gluten Free? The best news for all consumers is that Swedish Fish Candy is 100% gluten-free, which is especially great news for those who dislike consuming Gluten. As per the official Swedish Fish manufacturers, these candies are made of Sugar, corn starch, and corn syrup, and none contain Gluten, so you are on the safe side if you are allergic to Gluten.
- Side Notes: Swedish Fish are 100% gluten-free. However, they may come in contact with Gluten in the company. Do not worry; Mondelez International manufactures Swedish Fish in a purified environment and with different equipment.
Now let me tell you about Gluten and why some candies contain it.
What Is Gluten, And Why Do Candies Have It?
Gluten is a natural protein found in wheat, barley, and rye and is used primarily as a binding agent in food processing such as bakery products, candies, etc.
Key Facts About Gluten
- Gluten is a Protein.
- It is found in Grains.
- It is a binding agent.
- It can provide carbohydrates and fiber to a few users.
- However, for some users, it can be harmful and may cause a disease called Celiac disease, an autoimmune disorder. People with this disorder, when consuming Gluten, may have their small intestines damaged. As a result, the absorption of nutrients will be affected.
- Candies do not have Gluten in them; however, manufacturers add it during manufacturing, or sometimes Gluten can be added as cross-contamination.
- Gluten is added to candies as a thickening or binding agent or as a coating or dusting agent.
Pro Tip: Always check Candy’s side label for ingredients. If it is labeled gluten-free, then consume it. However, Swedish Fish are gluten-free candies, but the manufacturers have not mentioned gluten-free labels. So it is an exception.
What Are The Ingredients Of Swedish Fish?
Swedish Fish are made with a combination of the following ingredients:
- Corn syrup
- Modified corn starch
- White Fish (cod, haddock, pollock)
- Artificial flavor
- Citric acid
- Artificial color (including Red 40)
It’s important to remember that the ingredients above are general; however, some Swedish Fish may have different or additional ingredients. Additionally, the company may update the ingredients over time.
So from the above list of ingredients, it is clear that Swedish Fish candies are 100% gluten-free, and I can confidently say this.
The Nutritional Facts Of Swedish Fish
After knowing about the presence of different important and healthy components in Swedish Fish candies, you will run to buy and eat them.
- Calories – 110
- Total Carbohydrates – 27 g
- Total Fat – 0 g / 0%
- Sodium – 25 mg / 1%
- Sugars – 23 g
- Protein – 0 g
(Note: it is estimated for 30g of Swedish Fish Serving)
Swedish Fish Varieties
- Swedish Fish Assorted Candy
- Swedish Fish Assorted Soft & Chewy Candy
- Swedish Fish Bags Original Soft & Chewy Assorted Candy
- Swedish Fish Black Licorice flavor (by Malaco)
- Swedish Fish Brand Soft & Chewy Candy Christmas Colors
- Swedish Fish Candy
- Swedish Fish Candy Go-Paks!
- Swedish Fish Eggs Assorted Soft & Chewy Candy
- Swedish Fish Hearts BG
- Swedish Fish Original Soft & Chewy Candy
- Swedish Fish Soft & Chewy Candy
- Swedish Fish Soft Candy Berry Fat-Free
- Swedish Fish Treat Size Packages
A Few Common Concerns About Swedish Fish
- Are Swedish Fish Healthy? As they contain high amounts of Sugar and other ingredients, these candies may stick with teeth and cause gum disease.
- Do Swedish Fish Cause Diabetes? Due to high amounts of Sugar, it is not recommended for Diabetes patients to consume it.
- Should Children Consume Swedish Fish? As children extremely like candies, they need to be conscious because Swedish Fish have Red 40, an artificial flavor that can skyrocket hyperactivity in them.
After explaining everything about the Gluten and Swedish Fish candies connections, if you are still worried about the presence of Gluten in them. Then let me clarify it once again at the end.
Swedish Fish are 100% free of Gluten and from those ingredients that are even cross-contaminated with Gluten.
So I hope you have got the answer to your query, and now you can peacefully enjoy these candies with your friends and family without any issues.
Stay safe and be healthy!